‘ALFIES ANTIQUES’ GOAT

SAM_2654

I am massively into my antiques.  Alfies Antiques market is the perfect place to have a good old look.  (Located on Church Street- closest station Marylebone or Edgware Road) . 

Alfies is 3 levels high, with lots of little open rooms on each floor with different dealers in each, there is a lovely rooftop cafe on the top. It is open Tuesday to Saturday. 

Alfies sells lots of different things, from antiques, crockery, cutlery, furniture, tins, clothing and books. 

Only some dealers will take cards so best to have cash on you, there is a cashpoint near tesco’s which is a two minute walk if you need to go! 

There is a lovely lady at the front as you walk through the door called Beth, she made my whole shopping experience 100times better and we spent the best part of an hour chatting!

I fell in love with this 1941 ammeter (or car part).  Some, yes, may think it’s strange- but I personally love it.

ammeter goatammeter old

It now sits proudly on my bookshelf, I bought it for 8 pounds.

I did my first ever market stall on Saturday selling my homemade toffee. (It went rather successfully!)

SAM_2576

or should I say.. tremendously?

My idea was to sell it in vintage tea cups and saucers as the toffee goes great with a cup of tea or coffee.  They can then be bought as presents or tokens or of course just be kept for yourself like me, the selfish goat would do.

my toffee in a tea cup at my market stall!

my toffee in a tea cup at my market stall!

After wondering around the different sections, I got a selection of 6 different saucers, ranging from the 1930s-50s.

plates          plate pile

I also found this little victorian tea cup tucked under a pile of crockery. I have fallen head over heels in love with it (like most things I buy). I struggled to come to terms with the fact I had to part with it and sell, but it actually didn’t sell at the market! (happy dance).

teacup

I bought all 6 saucers and the tea cup for £20, which I felt was very reasonable- seeing that the tea cup alone was being sold for 16pounds.

I usually use mix-matched saucers as side plates when having tea parties, they are perfect for displaying cakes or biscuits!

Goodbye fellow goats, come back for a nose soon.

please do feel free to contact the goat further… vintage_goat@yahoo.co.uk

2 thoughts on “‘ALFIES ANTIQUES’ GOAT

  1. Great blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Cheers!

    • thank you!! For aspiring writers I would definitely say absorb, take inspiration and embrace everything around you. Go with what you feel passionate about and don’t be afraid to explore through your writing. I would definitely start a free platform first until you become more established. I love wordpress and feel its a really great way to start out! What will you be writing about? (sorry for my late reply I have been away!) hope that helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

